Our Hospitals

The Ministry of Health and Long-Term Care is committed to a strong, stable, publicly-funded hospital system that efficiently provides high-quality patient services through a system of mixed hospital types and funding methods.

Ontario has four different hospital types including Public Hospitals, Private Hospitals, Federal Hospitals, and Cancer Care Ontario Hospitals.

In Ontario, there are 211 hospital sites. Of that number, 155 are hospital corporations (e.g. Hamilton Health Sciences Centre), and an additional 56 facilities are hospitals under an umbrella corporation (e.g. Hamilton Health Sciences Centre's Juravinski site).

The HNHB LHIN funds 9 hospital corporations (with a total of 22 hospital sites). Please visit their websites for more information about each hospital.