French Language Health Service Providers

The French Language Services Act (FLSA), guarantees the right of French speaking Ontarians to receive provincial services in French in designated communities where there are significant populations of French speaking Ontarians. In the HNHB LHIN, we have three designated communities - Hamilton, Welland, and Port Colborne.

On June 4, 2009, Ontario introduced a new definition of the province's Francophone population that better reflects the evolution and diversity of Ontario's Francophone communities.This more inclusive definition of Ontario's Francophone population reads as follows: Those persons whose mother tongue is French, plus those whose mother tongue is neither French nor English but have a particular knowledge of French as an Official Language and use French at home. Based on the inclusive definition of Francophones, the province is now home to 611,500 Franco-Ontarians and 32,330 are in the HNHB LHIN.

LHINs are accountable for ensuring the availability of French language health services in their regions and the integration of the principles of the FLSA in their health transformation initiatives. The LHIN works with its French Language Health Planning Entity to improve access to and integration of French language health services.

In the HNHB LHIN there are two agencies designated under the FLSA mandated and able to provide all their services in French:

In addition, the following are agencies that were identified to provide services in French by the former District Health Councils of Niagara and Hamilton; they contribute to improving access to French language health services:

  • HNHB LHIN (Home and Community Care)
  • 15 Community Support Services Providers
  • 4 Hospitals
  • 1 Long-Term Care Home
  • 12 Mental Health and Addictions Providers